Introduction to My New Blog

IMG_0798
My sister and me at Great Falls in Virginia/Maryland. We have trouble taking serious pictures.

Some of you might be thinking, “Didn’t Luke already have a blog?” Others of you might be saying to yourselves, “Luke has a blog? Really?” Others still might be muttering under your breath, “Another blog? Why?”

Honestly, I’ve asked myself all three of those questions before I started working on this new one. I’d considered everything from giving my old one a makeover to even just starting back and pretending like I hadn’t taken an eleven month hiatus (October 2014 must have been one of the easiest months of my life). But eventually, I settled on just creating this new one. I’d heard WordPress was a better platform (so far, I do like it immensely better than BlogSpot, but I still like BlogSpot just fine), and I just wanted to give it a new feel, go a different direction with it.

WHY I CREATED A NEW BLOG

While my last blog, entitled “Writing My Thoughts,” could have centered around literally anything that crossed my mind, I wanted to take a more focused approach with this one. Obviously, I didn’t write down absolutely everything that went through my head, because I’d have looked like a mad man, but in retrospect, the view behind “writing my thoughts” seems too broad and, dare I say, chaotic. I feel like it was representative of who I was in my early college years: full of exploration and challenging the way I think, always wanting to try something new. There’s certainly nothing wrong with this, but now I feel like, as I approach my last semester of undergrad, I am finally starting to settle down and am realizing both who I am and who I want to become. I hope to always be someone who embraces learning and exploration, but maybe now I can approach it with more self-awareness than I had previously possessed.

This new blog, called JUCUTHIN, will be more focused on my  interests and passions, which, as you might have seen at the top of this page, include, but are not limited to: theology/my faith, culture (be it American, foreign, pop, or otherwise), justice (more on that later), and any place where any of those three might intersect with each other. Take the first two letters out of those four key words, do a little rearranging, and thus JUCUTHIN is created.

In my modest 3 1/2 years as a Biblical Text and Missions major at ACU, I’ve come to learn more not only about myself and where I stand as a child of God, but also where I stand within societal boundaries, and with this blog I plan on honing in more on some of those ideas. I do not claim to be an expert on any of these issues by any means, but I hope at the very least to create a platform of [civil] discussion for any readers this might generate. Or perhaps–to get even deeper to the core–I hope to create a platform for myself in which I can, well, write my thoughts on the matters that pertain.

WHAT TO EXPECT/BLOG RESOLUTIONS

003
Three of my best friends and I in New Mexico on our way to the Grand Canyon. This gas station had sombreros, so we decided that we had to take advantage of this opportunity. We’re also not very good at taking serious photos.

Posts might take any number of different forms, from traditional/personal (what I usually stuck with in my previous blog); to listicles (what you might expect to see on Buzzfeed or much of the Huffington Post); to commentary on movies, books, the Bible, or current events (I’m hoping to have a post on the attack in Paris out by the end of the weekend); and hopefully I’ll even get some guest writers to post on a few topics.

I hope to post at least once a week, but I understand that that’s a rather ambitious goal for me to make as a senior in college. Still, one can dream, no?

I also hope to keep track (at least broadly) of my life and where I’m going with it, in part because I have a feeling that at some point in life, Future Me is going to look back and want to see what I did and when, look at how I evolved from Past Me (currently known as Present Me) and went on to become Present Me (currently known as Future Me), and/or to settle a bet or something.

I don’t know what all the future holds for this blog, but I do hope that I’ll be able to use it well and with relative frequency, and I also hope that you will be able to obtain at least some of the joy in reading it as I get in writing it. Who knows? Maybe we’ll get something out of it together.

Thank you for reading. Until next time.

2 Replies to “Introduction to My New Blog”

Leave a Reply

